Nervous Anticipation

After spending all weekend bugging my husband to no end, I finally decided to really go ahead and do it.  But be warned!  This is not for the faint of heart or the timid.  I spent all Friday, Saturday and Sunday thinking about if this was something I really wanted to do and if it would harm my marriage in any way.  Like I said I really bugged the heck of my hubby and he assured me with all the warmth and patience a frustrated husband can that he was really fine with it.  Then I had to wrestle with the moral dillema I was facing, but my husband was the one that actually made a really good point.  I will never meet these people, there is no physical contact and my picture will never end up on some smutty web page.  And just as the PC title says, I’m a phone actress!  It’s all fantasy, there is nothing real there.  No one gets on the moral high horse with movie actors and actresses when playing a role that requires a steamy love scene.  So if I help a few lonely guys and get paid for it, there is no harm done, at least on my end.  So I have put some feelers out to see what I can find.  My first attempt was to leave a voice mail for a company I found on a legitimate and popular job search site.  The message requested that I leave a voice mail and if they liked my voice, they would call back.  I found another company and sent an application via internet.  Please be careful if you do that!  Do not disclose any personal information that would not otherwise be available to the public.  And a third company left me with many questions, so I’m waiting for a response.  Hopefully these three scenarios will help illustrate what you go through when looking for a job like this one.  In the meantime, I’m going to continue biting my nails in nervous anticipation.  I can’t believe how nervous I am waiting for these replies!

Published in: on September 26, 2006 at 7:30 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wldviolet.wordpress.com/2006/09/26/nervous-anticipation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello! I found your postings here on a google search. I typed in “phone actress training learn how to talk” and you actually came up as the first posting! I recently applied to a “phone actress” company.

    First of all, I wanted to say that your writing style is so exceptional, I’m so impressed. Your verbal skills are wonderful. If you ever lose your voice, I think that a job in medical transcription would work very well for you with very little training. I’ve done that, and doctors do not know grammar or spelling. You’re writing skills are awesome! I’ve taken classes to write as well as you do.

    I’m VERY excited and nervous about what I’m going to say, what this job will be like. I’ve been searching for inspiration. I hope that I have the creative abilities to do a good job. I too am a perfectionist. It’s funny…all the things that you write about that you are annoyed by, I can totally feel that THOSE ARE my fears!

    I have a technical question. My employer requires that I have a headset for a corded phone. I’ve searched and searched all week, online, in stores, everywhere…the only corded phone headset I could find was a “platronics” headset that costs about $300. I broke down and bought a headset that plugs into a cordless phone. Only problem is, the company I applied for will not allow me to talk on a cordless phone….so I’m stuck. I can not find a corded phone that has a 2.5mm jack for a cordless phone headset plug.

    Any advice is greatly appreciated! My email address is kathsouth@gmail.com

    I bought both phone and the headset so that I can be ready to work right away. You’re post were all very helpful to me, I have some insight about what to expect!

    • Hi KathSouth!

      I’m a newbie on the hunt for a PSO gig. Did you ever get involved? If so, did you/do you enjoy the job? And futhermore, do you have companies that you really enjoyed working for?
      Hope you are thriving,
      K

  2. hi did you ever find a phone that would work?


Leave a Reply

