It’s a Job!

Warning: This post is not hot, kinky or sexy. 

Here’s something no one ever considers before thinking about becoming a phone actress.  It really is a job.  Some days are a breeze, you get great clients, your calls are ten minutes or more and you hardly notice the time gone by.  Other nights you are put down and screamed at by clients that only want to degrade and abuse you.  Each call feels like an eternity wrapped up in two minutes.  Just like any other job, sometimes you have your good days, and sometimes you have the bad.  The only real problem is that when you are having a bad day, it’s really bad and you want to stay as far away from that phone as possible.  You don’t have a boss hanging over you threatening your job, you don’t have messages waiting in your voice-mail to return, it short – you have no outside incentive to get on that phone and work!  Here’s where most PA’s lose their momentum.  Now the question isn’t your stamina or your ability.  If you’ve gone more than a month in this job, you know you have both.  What you’re lacking is the desire to keep taking those calls.  Believe me, I know how hard it is to talk to a client that calls you a slut, a whore and any number of other sexually degrading names.  Now is when you need to bite the bullet and remember that none of those things are directed at you.  It’s your character – assuming you’ve made one, or more – that is on the receiving end.  And your character is not real!  I know this is hard, I know you just want to go to sleep and pull that nice warm comforter over your head.  Remember, I’ve been there too.  Occasionally you will read about the stoic resolve of a phone actress getting on and working despite a cold (I’ve read them too).  To them I say, “Bite Me!”  It’s flu/cold season.  I have two children, both in school.  There is an endless stream of germs and infections marching in and out of my house this time of year.  And the last thing I want to do is scream and moan for a client when my head is pounding, I’m running a fever and my throat is killing me.  If I don’t want to work I will try to come up with any number of reasons to stay away from that phone.  Now is when you need to put your resolve to the test.  This is probably the hardest part of being a PA.  I know, because I’m dealing with it now.  I can’t just stop working.  And yes, the thought has crossed my mind.  How do I get past this nasty bump?  To be perfectly honest, I don’t know.  I’m still working on that one.  But I do know that the most important thing you need to do is take better care of yourself in order to stay available for your family, your job and your clients.  You know the saying – ‘Take care of yourself first’.  I know, I know, it’s just too hard, your too tired, your too sick.  Well honey, if you want to make money (and you must or you wouldn’t have started this job at all) you’ve got to suck it up and move on.  Take those vitamins, drink lots of water, and eat healthy.  Pretty soon you’ll start to feel better.  By all means take a night off for that date you made with a wonderful cold medicine that knocks you out, but don’t give up.  You’ll come back and when you do, you’ll be better than ever!

Published in: on February 5, 2007 at 7:01 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wldviolet.wordpress.com/2007/02/05/its-a-job/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, I really enjoyed reading your blog, while I was doing so I thought “I would love to hear her voice” why not adding some podcasts to your blog?

    Cheers

    Billy

  2. I’m glad you like my writing, hopefully I can keep your interest. As far as adding my voice… I’ll see what I can do, but usually I have to charge for that 😉

  3. yes that’s true, but this is not about work or money, this is about sharing with others a different perspective of what you do for living. if you go to http://tenfeetaway.wordpress.com/2006/12/22/a-visit-to-hmp-pentonville/
    that was my first post ever and I included an audio file, I didn’t received many comments but then as I was adding new posts and people started to listen to them, they quite liked it.
    Anyway, I feel like reading another of your posts, have a good time… Billy

  4. I haven’t heard back from you…

  5. Sorry for the huge delay since my last response. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about your suggestion, however, I am not techno savvy and don’t have a clue how to even record a Podcast, never mind post one. Any suggestions?

  6. Hi, it’s good to hear from you, did you have time to listen to the podcast I mentioned in a previous comment?
    Do you have a mobile phone with voice recording? that would work. There are some guidelines in our blog about how to make a podcast, http://tenfeetaway.wordpress.com/podcast/ maybe i could help.
    Billy

  7. sorry… about the last line… maybe that could help

  8. Thank you for the link, that was a big help. Now I just need a microphone and recorder. Even when I get all that, what am I suppossed to say? I’ll admit, the thought of putting my voice on here is intimidating. It’s one thing to talk to guys every night, they’re not looking for witty conversation after all. I am glad for your suggestion, it’s a good one. And as soon as I put up a podcast, I’ll let you know. But don’t expect it soon, there’s a lot going on right now. Hope your enjoying my other posts.
    wldviolet

  9. If you want more information about podcasts go to this site:

    http://tenfeetaway.wordpress.com/podcast/

    It would also be very useful for me to know if this training package makes sense as we paid a lot of money for it. If you could listen to it and send me some feed back. I am going to read the latest post, “lets talk about sex baby”… 😉

  10. by the way, where are you from? I’m from Colombia and I have been living in London for the last 5 years…


Leave a Reply

