Shaking a Stigma

I’m feeling a bit snappish today, so this post may seem bitchy to some.  That’s because it is.

There seem to be no end of parodies and articles that stomp all over Phone Sex Operator’s.  I’m going to attempt to counter some of the stigmas that PSO’s are labeled with.  Please keep in mind, I’m only one person, I can only answer for myself.

1. All Phone Actresses are dumb:   Um, no.  I love to read, write, listen to an eclectic array of music and I enjoy art, both contemporary and classical.  I have an interest in ancient and Medieval history.  I would love to travel the world, but for now I’m working on discovering my own country.  Since I spent about 78% of my paycheck on daycare when I was working a desk job, it didn’t make sense to continue if I could stay home with my kids.  Now that was dumb!

2. All Phone Sex Workers are Whores/Sluts/Prostitutes...:   Really?!?  Someone should warn my husband!  While working, I’ve been called many things, but I’m only acting.  This seems to escape everyone’s attention.  It seems that phone actresses are put down to make the author/creator feel better about themselves.  Why would they do that?  My guess is that for whatever reason they are either ashamed or pissed about their experience with the phone sex industry.  Fine, that’s their own cross to bare.  So I guess Julia Roberts really is a prostitute because she portrayed one in a movie once.  Someone should really tell her.

3. Phone Sex is Rip Off:   Maybe, but as long as there is a demand, there will always be a supply.  And any advertising executive could tell you; sex sells.  Besides, if my clients enjoy it, what’s the problem? 

4. Phone Sex Operators Have No Morals:  Again, I can only speak for myself.  I do a job, plain and simple.  Besides my job I raise two wonderful children, I am member of my church, I donate to my local fire and police departments.  I have volunteered at a local women’s shelter and soup kitchen.  I have donated food, time, money, clothes, toys, my hair (for children with cancer) and household goods to several charities.  I support the Wildlife Federation, my local ASPCA, Make a Wish Foundation, Locks of Love and Walk for Life.  I bake brownies, socialize with my friends and neighbors, get along well with my in-laws and am happily (and faithfully) married.  I teach my children manners (something many parents have forgotten), perseverance, self respect and confidence.  We have a family game night and the television is rarely on (I’m not even sure why I’m paying for cable).  I believe the most important thing I can pass on to my children is an education.  I encourage them to read and learn whatever their hearts desire.  I’m not perfect and neither is my family.  But morals?  I have those, thanks.

 5. Being a Phone Sex Operator is Disgusting:  I pulled this one from an article I read at this link: http://www.xomba.com/adult_phone_actress_is_now_on_my_resume.  Oddly enough, there was another article by the same author on a different website that read almost exactly the same.  You can read that one by following this link: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/129320/the_reality_of_being_an_adult_phone.html  In both articles the author had three days worth of experience, received -if she can be believed- the most outrageous caller and never spoke to another PSO.  Wow, now that’s some reliable research!  In both articles the author claimed to feel disgusting after doing this job.  But my favorite was when she claimed that it is not an “easily tolerable … job if you have any self respect.”  I’ve just got to get this out – what a bitch!  Personally, I think cleaning other people’s bathrooms is disgusting and I could never be a house-cleaner.  Maybe I should write an article bashing house-cleaners because I don’t like it even though I know nothing about the job.  I’m sure I’m qualified though, because I clean my own house.

Bottom line: If you have any qualms about being a Phone Actress/Actor – don’t do it.  If the thought of paying $2.99+ a minute makes you queasy, don’t call.  Any other problems – deal with it, you’ll survive.

Published in: on April 4, 2007 at 2:59 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wldviolet.wordpress.com/2007/04/04/shaking-a-stigma/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve read every entry. I wanted to know what the job was all about. Thanks for writing and giving me some insight.

  2. Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you were able to take something from my writing.

  3. You just said everything I wanted to say to that chick who wrote the article on both sites. I read both articles and felt that she really truly didn’t know what she was talking about. I have plenty of self-respect and probably more morals than she does or ever thought of having. If she had worked the job for a longer period of time and taken other peoples feelings and lifestyles into consideration, she would have noticed that some of the men calling aren’t looking for instant gratification, but for someone to talk to and listen to them without judgment. Thank you very much for writing this.

  4. It’s nice to know that my opinions are shared by others. It seems to be a common misconception that most people that call phone sex lines are pervs. Nothing could be further from the truth. I started this blog because I realized I had no idea what I was getting into and trying to find advice from other PSO’s was impossible. I appreciate your comment and hope you continue to follow the blog. You are the fist experienced PSO that has posted, please continue to do so.

  5. I totally agree with you! I’d rather be a PSO than clean other people’s bathrooms! You’re really a very smart lady. If get hired, I will continue to keep in touch with you!

  6. I just want to THANK YOU for writing this blog! I just got a job as a PSO yesterday, and have had a lot of time to think about it- after having talked to a few peaople, I have got nothing but negativity! I did some research and actually read that same article that you talk about in your blog- it made me feel so bad and i was actually almost ready to quit! THANK YOU for writing this blog- you said everything that I wanted to say to that bitch who wrote that article! you have restored my faith in being able to become a smart, normal, great PSO, and I am confident, happy and excited to embark on this crazy adventure 😉 THANKS again!


Leave a Reply

